Facade restoration at the base of the west choir

Following the completion of work on the façade restoration of the east choir of Naumburg Cathedral, restoration work has also begun on the façade of the west choir as the next step. There are black deposits on the base of the west choir, but due to natural sprinkling and weathering, the crust pattern here is far less pronounced than was the case on the east choir facade.

West choir with blackening at the base

Underneath the cornice, which is about 4 meters high, careful cleaning work is now being carried out with the aid of fine blasters, analogous to the work on the east choir, before damaged joints are repaired in a second step. This work is intended to ensure that the historic building and its substance will be preserved for many more centuries.

The measures are funded by the German Foundation for Monument Protection.

Background Information

Naumburg Cathedral was built of limestone. Weathering and aging conditions in recent decades have led to varying degrees of blackening of the historic facades. This dark discoloration is caused by the deposition of a hard gypsum crust on the surface, which can be damaging to the substance of the building material. Under the gypsum crust, the limestone can soften, which in the long term can lead to damage and even loss of the stone.

The east choir of Naumburg Cathedral was particularly affected by these discolorations and the formation of crusts due to the weather. Therefore, restoration work has already been carried out here in recent years, which was intensively accompanied by the Saxony-Anhalt State Office for the Preservation of Monuments and Archaeology and ICOMOS.

East choir facade after restoration

Scroll-To-Top-Button
EN
Skip to content

Fassadenrestaurierung am Sockel des Westchors

Nach dem Abschluss der Arbeiten zur Fassadeninstandsetzung am Ostchor des Naumburger Doms haben in einem nächsten Schritt auch an der Fassade  des Westchors Restaurierungsarbeiten begonnen. Am Sockel des Westchors sind schwarze Ablagerungen, jedoch ist hier aufgrund der natürlichen Beregnung und Bewitterung das Krustenbild weit weniger stark ausgebildet als es an der Ostchorfassade der Fall war.

Westchor mit Verschwärzungen am Sockel

Unterhalb des ca. 4 Meter hohen Gesimses werden nun analog der Arbeiten am Ostchor zunächst sorgfältige Reinigungsarbeiten mit Hilfe von Feinstrahlern vorgenommen, bevor in einem zweiten Schritt schadhafte Fugen ausgebessert werden. Durch diese Arbeiten soll gewährleistet werden, dass das historische Bauwerk und seine Substanz noch viele weitere Jahrhunderte erhalten bleiben.

Gefördert werden die Maßnahmen durch die Deutsche Stiftung Denkmalschutz.

Hintergrundinformationen

Der Naumburger Dom wurde aus Kalkstein erbaut. Die Witterungs- und Alterungsbedingungen in den letzten Jahrzehnten führten dazu, dass die historischen Fassaden unterschiedlich stark verschwärzt sind. Diese dunklen Verfärbungen entstehen durch die Ablagerung einer harten Gipskruste auf der Oberfläche, welche für das Baumaterial substanzschädigend sein kann. Unter der Gipskruste kann es dazu kommen, dass der Kalkstein aufweicht, was langfristig zu Schädigungen bis hin zum Steinverlust führen kann.

Besonders stark von diesen Verfärbungen und der Krustenbildung war witterungsbedingt der Ostchor des Naumburger Doms betroffen. Hier wurden deshalb in den letzten Jahren bereits Restaurierungsarbeiten durchgeführt, die intensiv vom Landesamt für Denkmalpflege und Archäologie Sachsen-Anhalt und ICOMOS begleitet wurden.

Ostchorfassade nach Restaurierung

Scroll-To-Top-Button
DE
Zum Inhalt springen