Exhibition: The Naumburg Master's
Career and Works

An exhibition on the upstairs floor of the west cloister allows visitors to the cathedral complex to relive the journey taken by the Naumburg Master from France to Germany. It reveals astounding insights into the work and career of one of the most extraordinary sculptural architects of the 13th century.

 

Priceless originals, artfully-created copies of the Bamberg Knight or the west choir screen in Mainz, model churches, capitals and manuscripts as well as 3D animations of colour reconstructions take you through particular features of the Naumburg Master’s work and his roots in French cathedral art.

Special Exhibitions

In Naumburg Cathedral, current special exhibitions regularly link to the history and art treasures of the World Heritage Site. 

From 7th June to 31st October 2020, we cordially invite you to the exhibition "Uta meets Nina" with photographs by Jürgen Sieker. The intensive portrait studies of the donor statues and other famous works of art enter into a dialogue with photographs of famous personalities from politics, culture and sport.

From 12th September to 31st October 2020, we present a special exhibition of the Saxony-Anhalt Arts Foundation in Naumburg Cathedral: "Impression and devotion: A dedication to Max Klinger" . Four contemporary artists deal with Klinger's diverse oeuvre.

Ausstellung WEG UND WERKE
DES NAUMBURGER MEISTERS

Den Schaffensweg des Naumburger Meisters von Frankreich bis Deutschland nachzuempfinden, ermöglicht eine Ausstellung im Obergeschoss der Westklausur – direkt im Domgelände gelegen. Sie eröffnet erstaunliche Einblicke in die Arbeit und den Werdegang eines der außergewöhnlichsten Bildhauerarchitekten des 13. Jahrhunderts.

 

Wertvolle Originale, kunstvoll gefertigte Duplikate des Bamberger Reiters oder des Mainzer Westlettners, Kirchenmodelle, Kapitelle und Handschriften sowie 3-D-Animationen zu den Farbrekonstruktionen führen Ihnen die Besonderheiten des Naumburger Meisters sowie seine Verwurzelung in der französischen Kathedralkunst bildhaft vor Augen.

SONDERAUSSTELLUNGEN

Im Naumburger Dom stellen regelmäßig aktuelle Sonderausstellungen Bezüge zur Geschichte und den Kunstschätzen des Welterbes her. 

Vom 7. Juni bis 31. Oktober 2020 laden wir Sie herzlich zur Ausstellung „Uta trifft Nina“ mit Fotografien von Jürgen Sieker ein. Die intensiven Porträtstudien der Stifterfiguren und anderer berühmter Kunstwerke treten darin in einen Dialog mit Fotografien berühmter Persönlichkeiten aus Politik, Kultur und Sport.

Vom 12. September bis 31. Oktober 2020 findet im Naumburger Dom die Sonderausstellung „Druck und Hingabe: Eine Widmung an Max Klinger“ der Kunststiftung Sachsen-Anhalt statt. Vier zeitgenössische Künstlerinnen und Künstler setzen sich darin mit Klingers vielfältigen Schaffen auseinander.