For Children and Youth Groups

In the KinderDomBauhütte (children’s construction workshop), children and young persons can undertake a fascinating search for traces of the past all year around. Slipping into the role of a medieval cathedral master builder themselves, they discover the UNESCO World Heritage Site and allow their creativity to flow through sculpture, glasswork or architectural design. The incredible achievements of the cathedral master builders are linked imaginatively to subjects such as history, RE, art, biology, maths and special topics. The wide range of projects available can be adapted to the frameworks of the syllabus and can be tailored to groups of all ages.

Please note the following in regard to all projects:

The projects are in German only. The activity prices and additional guided tour prices for the selected offers apply to groups of a minimum of 15 and maximum of 25 school children. One teacher and one accompanying adult receive a free ticket per group (excluding material costs). 

We would advise booking well in advance indicating your class level.

Corona note: Please note that the school class has to wear a mouth and nose cover during a guided tour through Naumburg Cathedral. It is not obligatory to wear a mouth and nose cover during the projects in the KinderDomBauhütte.

FROM CLASS 5 (AGE TEN)

Botany in stone

The West Choir Screen in Naumburg Cathedral is covered in the most beautiful ornamental foliage from the middle ages. Almost as if they were alive, oaks, vines and hops all thrive on the columns. The Naumburg Master’s inspiration – the plants of the Saale-Unstrut region – can still be found in the Cathedral Garden. In the garden, children can closely compare the sculptural works with their living templates and discover the interplay between nature and art. We also have a go at the intricate work of the sculptors. Following the traditions of construction workshops, we work in medieval dress with chisels, rasps and files to create a foliate relief out of aerated concrete based on our own sketches.

Duration: 150 min
Price of activity: 5.00 € per person

Heavenly light

The stained-glass windows of Naumburg Cathedral demonstrate the high level of craftmanship of the medieval glassmakers who fashioned items of such resplendence from this most sensitive material. It is from their work that we understand how important light was in Gothic cathedrals. Pupils look at the interplay between light, colour and geometry and go on to create their own piece of heavenly light as a memento. As glass artists they quickly learn the sensitivity required to work on such small pieces of glasswork. In the glass workshop they cut, break and grind the luminous glass to create their own pendants. Placing their pendants together also creates a collective piece of artwork for the whole group.

Duration: 150 min
Price of activity: 5.00 € per person

Marked by time

While discovering the Naumburg Cathedral Chapter Library, school groups will be amazed by the more than 30,000 valuable medieval scripts, bound in ornate leather covers. This gives them rare insights into the extensive range of artefacts and learn everything there is to know about the craft of leatherwork. At the end, each child will have the opportunity to create their own personal bookmark from genuine sleek leather. We have a number of stitching irons in different shapes and sizes which can be used in a multitude of variations to make each piece.

Duration: 150 min
Price of activity: 7.00 € per person

Let there be light. Creative candlemaking

Candlelight creates a warm and cosy atmosphere. But what significance did light hold in the middle ages? Why are candles still lit in church today? The children investigate these questions while exploring the cathedral. Afterwards, they make their own individual candles using a range of construction techniques.

Duration: 120 min
Price of activity: 6.00 € per person

FROM CLASS 6 (AGE ELEVEN)

Coloured light

Handling glass and creating windows became a truly masterful art in Gothic construction. In this day-long course we give school children the time to get to grips properly with glass art. While exploring the cathedral, attention should be drawn to the windows, the techniques used to make them, their shape, paintwork and intense play of colours. Children are encouraged to focus on the coats of arms visible in the windows in particular, as these then form the templates for their own glass pictures. The children are then given a brief introduction into the practice of creating medieval windows and how to use the relevant tools. Using this knowledge, they then produce their own entirely personal glass window featuring a coat of arms.

Duration: 7 hours
Project fees: for 15 or more 11.00 € per person, for 20 or more 8.00 € per person
Material costs: 7.00 € per person

Figures and dimensions

The foundation stone of the first Naumburg Cathedral was laid in 1028. But what methods and techniques were used to erect such an imposing building in just twelve years? The children step into the shoes of medieval mathematicians and planners and, using original engravings in the west choir, discover which measuring instruments were used and review how constructions were built accurately in the late middle ages. Equipped with just pair of compasses and a sight board, they then draft the floorplan of Naumburg Cathedral. With a bit of maths, they can gain an understanding of what the medieval builders managed to achieve in a fun yet challenging manner.

Duration: 4 hours
Price of activity: 9.00 € per person

FOR RE CLASSES

Gestures, facial expressions and comic strips

Sculptures cannot talk and yet they can still tell a story. For instance, the story of the passion on the West Choir Screen can be understood thanks to the animated form of each individual relief. The gestures and facial expressions of the figures often reveal more than a thousand words. The modern glass windows by Neo Rauch in the Chapel of St Elizabeth create a link to the comic-strips of today. The children can then play around with different expressions on figures and pictures in their own comic strips. In the cathedral they sketch statues which they can then colour in the workshop and arrange into a picture story. 

It is helpful if the children already have a reasonable understanding of the bible and in particular the story of the passion.

Duration: 150 min
Price of activity: 5.00 € per person

FÜR KINDER- UND JUGENDGRUPPEN

In der KinderDomBauhütte begeben sich Kinder und Jugendliche das ganze Jahr über auf eine faszinierende Spurensuche. Sie schlüpfen selbst in die Rolle der mittelalterlichen Dombaumeister, erkunden das UNESCO-Welterbe und lassen im Anschluss als Steinmetze, Glaskünstler oder Architekten ihrer Kreativität freien Lauf. Anschaulich verbinden sich so die enorme Leistung der Dombaumeister mit den Fächern Geschichte, Religion, Kunst, Biologie, Mathematik und Sachkunde. Die vielfältigen Projekte sind auf die Rahmenrichtlinien der Lehrpläne abgestimmt und können auf jede Gruppe altersgerecht zugeschnitten werden.

Bitte beachten Sie Folgendes für alle Projekte:

Die Projektpreise und Führungszuschläge der ausgewählten Angebote beziehen sich auf eine Gruppengröße von mindestens 15 bis maximal 25 Schülern. Pro Gruppe gewähren wir einem Lehrer und einer Begleitperson eine Freikarte (Materialkosten exklusive). 

Wir bitten um rechtzeitige Anmeldung mit Angabe der Klassenstufe.

AB KLASSE 5

Botanik in Stein

Der Westlettner des Naumburger Doms ist mit den schönsten Blattornamenten des Mittelalters bewachsen. Fast als wären sie lebendig, gedeihen Eiche, Wein und Hopfen an den Säulen. Die Inspiration des Naumburger Meisters – die Pflanzen der Saale-Unstrut-Region – finden sich auch im Domgarten wieder. Im Grünen können die Schüler die Bildhauerarbeiten genau mit den lebenden Vorlagen vergleichen und das Zusammenspiel von Natur und Kunst erkennen. Die präzisen Arbeiten der Bildhauer wollen wir auch selbst ausprobieren: Ganz in der Tradition der Bauhütten arbeiten wir im mittelalterlichen Gewand mit Beiteln, Raspeln und Feilen und fertigen nach eigenen Skizzen ein Blattrelief aus Gasbetonstein.

Dauer: 150 min
Projektgebühr: 5,00 € pro Person

Himmlisches Licht

Die bunt leuchtenden Fenster des Naumburger Doms zeigen die hohe Kunstfertigkeit der mittelalterlichen Glashandwerker, schufen sie doch aus empfindlichstem Material eine solche Pracht. Durch sie erkennen wir, welche Bedeutung das Licht in gotischen Kathedralen hatte. Die Schüler setzen sich mit dem Zusammenspiel aus Licht, Farbe und Geometrie auseinander und schaffen sich im Anschluss ihr eigenes Stück Himmelslicht als Andenken. Als Glaskünstler lernen sie schnell, welches Fingerspitzengefühl schon bei kleinen Glasarbeiten nötig ist. In der Glaswerkstatt schneiden, brechen und schleifen sie das leuchtende Glas, um einen eigenen Anhänger zu kreieren. Beim Zusammenlegen der Anhänger entsteht auch ein Gesamtkunstwerk der ganzen Gruppe.

Dauer: 150 min
Projektgebühr:  5,00 € pro Person

Von der Zeit geprägt

Während der Erkundung der Naumburger Domstiftsbibliothek werden die Schüler die über 30.000 kostbaren mittelalterlichen Handschriften, gebunden in kunstvoll verzierten Ledereinbänden, bestaunen. Dabei erhalten sie seltene Einblicke in die umfassenden Bestände und erfahren Wissenswertes zum Kunsthandwerk der Lederbearbeitung. Im Anschluss daran gestaltet sich jeder Schüler ein persönliches Lesezeichen aus echtem Blankleder. Hierfür stehen verschieden geformte Punziereisen zur Verfügung, die individuell kombiniert werden können.

Dauer: 150 min
Projektgebühr:  7,00 € pro Person

Es werde Licht. Kreative Kerzengestaltung

Im Kerzenschein verbreitet sich gleich Wärme und Gemütlichkeit. Doch welche Bedeutung hatte das Licht im Mittelalter? Warum werden auch heute noch Kerzen in einer Kirche angezündet? Diesen Fragen gehen die Schüler in einer Domerkundung nach. Im Anschluss fertigen sie individuelle Kerzen mit vielfältigen Gestaltungstechniken.

Dauer: 120 min
Projektgebühr:  6,00 € pro Person

AB KLASSE 6

Buntes Leuchten

Der Umgang mit Glas und die Kreationen der Fenster wurden in der gotischen Baukunst zu einer wahren Meisterschaft getrieben. In diesem Tagesprojekt lassen wir den Schülern viel Zeit, sich intensiv mit der Glaskunst auseinanderzusetzen. Bereits während der Domerkundung stehen die Fenster im Fokus, ihre Gestaltungstechnik, Form, Bemalung und das intensive Farbspiel. Die in den Fenstern sichtbaren Wappen erhalten von den Schülern dabei besondere Beachtung, denn sie dienen als Vorlage für selbstgestaltete Glasbilder. Die Schüler erhalten eine kurze Einführung in die Praxis der mittelalterlichen Fensterglasherstellung und die Nutzung der Werkzeuge. Danach fertigen sie ihr ganz persönliches Wappenfenster.

Dauer: 7 h
Projektgebühr:  ab 15 Personen 11,00 € pro Person, ab 20 Personen 8,00 € pro Person
Materialkosten: 7,00 € pro Person

Maß und Zahl

Im Jahr 1028 wurde der Grundstein für den ersten Naumburger Dom gelegt. Doch mit welchen Methoden und Techniken wurde ein derart imposantes Gebäude in nur zwölf Jahren errichtet? Die Schüler folgen den Spuren mittelalterlicher Mathematiker und Bauplaner, erkunden anhand originaler Ritzzeichnungen im Westchor, mit welchen Messinstrumenten gearbeitet wurde und überprüfen, wie maßgerecht im Spätmittelalter gebaut wurde. Lediglich mit Zirkel und Schnurgespann ausgestattet, entwerfen sie anschließend den Grundriss des Naumburger Doms. Mit Witz, Verstand und etwas Mathematik lassen sich auf diese Weise die erstaunlichen Leistungen der damaligen Akteure nachvollziehen.

Dauer: 4 h
Projektgebühr:  9,00 € pro Person

FÜR RELIGIONS­KLASSEN

Mimik Gestik Comic

Skulpturen sprechen nicht und können doch Geschichten erzählen. So wird die Passionsgeschichte am Westlettner durch die lebendige Ausformung der einzelnen Reliefs begreifbar. Die Mimik und Gestik der Figuren sagt dabei oft mehr als tausend Worte. Mit den modernen Glasfenstern von Neo Rauch in der Elisabethkapelle schlagen wir eine Brücke zu den Comics als Bildgeschichten unserer Zeit. Im Anschluss können die Schüler mit eigenen Comics die Ausdrucksstärke von Figuren und Bildern selbst ausprobieren. Im Dom fertigen sie Figurenskizzen an, die in der Werkstatt koloriert und zu einer Bildergeschichte arrangiert werden. 

Bibel-Vorkenntnisse, insbesondere zur Passionsgeschichte, sind hilfreich.

Dauer: 150 min
Projektgebühr:  5,00 € pro Person