Guided Tours for Individuals

Naumburg Cathedral with its Romanesque crypt, twin choir screens and masterly West Choir with its statues of the cathedral’s donors can be visited in many different ways. Public tours of the Cathedral are available every day and we regularly take visitors up the towers or into the mysterious Cathedral Chapter Archive. Please note that all public guided tours are in German only. We have created an audio guide for self-guided tours which explains the unique architecture of the Cathedral, its works of art made of stone, glass and wood and the splendours of the treasury vault. The cathedral premises also contain the Cathedral Garden, an exhibition of the works of the Naumburg Master and the cloister with the Church of St Mary.

From June to October 2020 we show you our unknown side in numerous special and expert tours.

We look forward to seeing you!

Public Tours of the Cathedral

Our expert tour guides take you back to the high middle ages and reveal the mysteries of the history of the building, surprising details on the numerous treasures and exciting stories about the statues of the cathedral’s donors.

March to October
Monday to Thursday: 10 a.m. | 2 p.m.
Friday and Saturday: 10 a.m. | 2 p.m. | 4 p.m.
Sunday, religious festivals: 12 noon | 2 p.m. | 4 p.m.

November to February
Monday to Thursday: 11 a.m.
Friday and Saturday: 11 a.m. | 2 p.m.
Sunday, religious festivals: 12 noon | 2 p.m.

Duration: approx. 60 min
Prices: Adults: 9.50 €, concessions: 7.50 €, Kurkarte holders: 6.50 €, school-aged children: 3.00 €

Tower tour

Reach for the sky! The incredible view over the cathedral complex, the city and the wine region of Saale-Unstrut makes the tower climb well worth the effort.

March to October

Friday to Sunday, religious festivals: 3 p.m.
Price: 3.00 €

Not suitable for persons with a fear of heights. Sensible footwear must be worn. The tower climb is not suitable for children under 6 years old.

Cathedral Chapter Library and Archive

Naumburg Cathedral looks back over a fascinating 1,000-year history. Testimony to this history is provided by the more than 30,000 precious manuscripts and 2,500 deeds in the archive and library. Staff at the Cathedral Chapter Archive will welcome you to the exquisite new library in the west cloister and explain the fascinating stories behind the documents.

April to October

Every first Saturday of the month: 1 p.m.
Price: 3.00 €

Tour with Audio Guide

Visitors can also use the audio guide to explore Naumburg Cathedral. This is included in the admission price. Be guided through the cathedral and the treasury vault at your own pace. The audio guide provides detailed information on all of the cathedral’s highlights including the West Choir with the twelve statues of its donors, the oldest stone sculpture of St Elizabeth and the windows in the Chapel of St Elizabeth designed by Neo Rauch as well as many other works of art.

Duration: approx. 120 min
Languages: German, English, French

FÜHRUNGEN​ FÜR INDIVIDUALBESUCHER

CORONA-PRÄVENTION

Wir freuen uns sehr, den Naumburger Dom ab dem 15. Mai 2020 wieder dauerhaft für den Besucherverkehr zu öffnen. Alle Hygiene- und Abstandsbestimmungen zur Eindämmung der Corona-Pandemie werden eingehalten. Auch Gottesdienste sind unter Auflagen möglich. Veranstaltungen und Führungen finden vorerst nicht statt. Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

Den Naumburger Dom mit seiner romanischen Krypta, den beiden einzigartigen Lettnern und dem meisterhaften Westchor samt Stifterfiguren können Sie auf vielfältige Weise besichtigen. Täglich werden öffentliche Domführungen angeboten und regelmäßig nehmen wir Sie mit hoch hinauf zu den Türmen oder in das geheimnisvolle Domstiftsarchiv. Für einen individuellen Rundgang haben wir einen Audioguide kreiert, der die einzigartige Architektur des Doms, die Kunstschätze aus Stein, Glas und Holz sowie die Kostbarkeiten des Domschatzgewölbes erläutert. Auf dem Domgelände befinden sich außerdem der Domgarten, eine Ausstellung zu den Werken des Naumburger Meisters sowie der Kreuzgang mit der Marienkirche am Dom.

Wir freuen uns sehr auf Ihren Besuch

Öffentliche Domführungen

Unsere kundigen Domführer nehmen Sie mit in die Zeit des Hochmittelalters und erläutern Wissenswertes zur Baugeschichte, überraschende Details zu den zahlreichen Kunstschätzen und spannende Geschichten rund um die Stifterfiguren.

März bis Oktober
Montag bis Donnerstag    10.00 Uhr | 14.00 Uhr
Freitag und Samstag         10.00 Uhr | 14.00 Uhr | 16.00 Uhr
Sonntag, kirchl. Feiertag  12.00 Uhr | 14.00 Uhr | 16.00 Uhr

November bis Februar
Montag bis Donnerstag     11.00 Uhr
Freitag und Samstag          11.00 Uhr | 14.00 Uhr
Sonntag, kirchl. Feiertag   12.00 Uhr | 14.00 Uhr

Dauer: ca. 60 min
Kosten: 9,50 € für Erwachsene, 7,50 € ermäßigt, 6,50 € für Inhaber einer Kurkarte, 3,00 € für Schüler

Turmführung

Hier geht es hoch hinaus! Der fantastische Blick über die Domanlage, die Stadt sowie die Weinregion Saale-Unstrut ist Belohnung für einen anstrengenden Aufstieg.

März bis Oktober

Freitag bis Sonntag, kirchl. Feiertag: 15.00 Uhr
Kosten: 3,00 €

Voraussetzung für die Turmführung sind festes Schuhwerk und Höhentauglichkeit. Die Turmbesteigung ist nicht geeignet für Kinder unter 6 Jahren.

Domstiftsbibliothek & Domstiftsarchiv

Der Naumburger Dom blickt auf eine faszinierende knapp 1000-jährige Geschichte zurück. Davon zeugen auch die mehr als 30.000 kostbaren Handschriften und 2.500 Urkunden der Archiv- und Bibliothekbestände. Die Mitarbeiter des Domstiftsarchivs öffnen für Sie die kunstvoll neugestalteten Bibliotheksräume der Westklausur und erzählen, welch faszinierende Geschichten die Dokumente verbergen.

April bis Oktober

Jeden ersten Samstag im Monat: 13.00 Uhr
Kosten: 3,00 €

Rundgang mit Audioguide

Unsere Gäste können für den Rundgang im Naumburger Dom auch unseren Audioguide nutzen. Er ist im Eintrittspreis inbegriffen. Lassen Sie sich ganz nach Belieben durch den Dom und das Domschatzgewölbe führen. Der Audioguide bietet detaillierte Informationen zu allen Höhepunkten wie dem Westchor mit den zwölf Stifterfiguren, der ältesten Steinskulptur der Heiligen Elisabeth oder den von Neo Rauch gestalteten Fenstern in der Elisabethkapelle sowie weiteren Ausstattungsstücken.

Dauer: ca. 120 min
Sprachen: Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch