The Cathedral Treasury Vault

The Cathedral Treasury Vault showcases the cathedral’s sacral treasures. Just entering the room is an experience in itself as the room covers an area of around 285 square metres and thus is one of the largest Romanesque vaults in central Germany. 

Learn about the cathedral’s treasures with the audio guide which provides information on all the masterpieces in an exciting and informative way.

Visitors will find it hard to tear themselves away from the sweetness and grace of Mary Magdalene (Lucas Cranach the Elder, approx. 1518/19), while the extraordinary expressive power of the Naumburg Pietà (14th century) is spellbinding. It is not for nothing that this lamentation of Christ is considered one of Europe’s most significant works of art.

The "Johannesschale" (13th century) certainly stirs the senses. It depicts the decapitated head of John the Baptist in extremely life-like form and is one of the oldest examples of its kind in Europe. The colossal missal is highly imposing (16th century). It stands out not only due to its rich miniatures but also its weight of 45 kilograms. Modern treasures were added to the cathedral’s treasures in 2014 with the glasswork by the artist Günter Grohs.

Das Domschatzgewölbe

Im Domschatzgewölbe werden die sakralen Kostbarkeiten des Doms in Szene gesetzt. Bereits das Betreten des Raums ist ein Erlebnis, da er sich über eine Fläche von ca. 285 m2 erstreckt und damit zu den größten romanischen Gewölben in Mitteldeutschland zählt. 

Entdecken Sie die Domschätze mit dem Audioguide, der spannend und ausführlich alle Meisterwerke erläutert.

Der Anmut und Grazie von Maria Magdalena (Lucas Cranach  d.Ä., um 1518/19) wird sich nur schwer ein Mensch entziehen können. Auch die Naumburger Pietà (14. Jh.) berührt mit ihrer ungewöhnlichen Ausdruckskraft jeden Betrachter. Nicht umsonst zählt diese Beweinung Christi zu den bedeutendsten ihrer Art in Europa.

Aufsehen erregt die Johannesschale (13. Jh.). Sie zeigt das abgeschlagene Haupt Johannes des Täufers außergewöhnlich realitätsnah und gehört zu den ältesten erhaltenen europäischen Beispielen dieser Art. Imposant ist das kolossale Chorbuch (16. Jh.). Es besticht durch die reiche buchmalerische Gestaltung sowie durch sein Gewicht von 60 Kilogramm. Moderne Kostbarkeiten haben 2014 mit den Glasmalereien des Künstlers Günter Grohs Einzug in den Domschatz gefunden.