Naumburg Cathedral World Heritage Site

One of the most significant cultural monuments of the high middle ages, the late-Romanesque and early-Gothic cathedral is a major visitor attraction on the “Romanesque Route” and has held the title of UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1 July 2018. The star attraction is the West Choir with its twelve statues of the cathedral’s donors. The interplay between architecture, sculpture and glasswork, created by the hands of a sculptural architect, represent a masterpiece of human creativity. The Namburg Master and the workshop he established at the start of the 13th century are testimony to the cultural exchange that was already in place in medieval Europe, with aspects of his style traceable from north-west France, via Germany to south-west Europe.
Visitors are spellbound by the vibrancy and expressiveness of the 12 statues depicting the cathedral’s donors. The noblewoman known as Uta, in particular, is considered by many to be the “most beautiful woman of the middle ages”. The two high-medieval choir screens separating the choirs from the nave are also highly impressive. Indeed, this is the only church in the world to house two such screens! Romanesque and Gothic masterpieces blend with spectacular pieces of modern art to create a stunning impression. However, the cathedral has much more to amaze visitors. 

Learn all about the cathedral with the audio guide or on a guided tour.

The East Choir

The East Choir formed the liturgical centre of the cathedral and still houses its high altar. This is where the Romanesque style of the choir quadrangle (13th century) meets the Gothic style of the choir termination (14th century). The medieval choir stools with their impressive desks are striking even from a distance and their unusual shapes are the subject of much speculation. The Naumburg Master’s late works are truly life-like, as shown in the statues of the bishop and the deacon (13th century). With the expansion, the East Choir also held six large new windows featuring Gothic tracery which today contain glass dating from the 14th century right through to the 21st. The stained-glass windows in the East Choir are currently being restored and so viewing is restricted.

Handrails by Heinrich Apel

Two modern handrails made of bronze adorn the stairs leading to the East Choir. They were designed by the Magdeburg-based artist Heinrich Apel. Rich in detail, these artworks each have a story to tell. “Saint Francis and the animals” (1972) shows the monk Francis of Assisi preaching to the birds. “The narrow path to paradise” (1983) depicts the arduous route humans have to take to reach paradise. The path is embodied by a snake up which humans clamber towards the gate of paradise. The snake’s head sits at the very bottom with the devil riding on its back. Both handrails contain lots of lovingly-created detail to discover and touch: animals, plants and figures from the bible or ancient mythology.

The Crypt

Visitors entering the crypt are immediately overwhelmed by its simplicity. The triple naves of the hall crypt form the oldest part of Naumburg Cathedral and date back to the 12th and 13th centuries.

The central part with its Romanesque columns and block capitals contains a particular feature: two wall lights in the form of a prophet and a female angel, created by the artist Heinrich Apel.

Looking towards the altar reveals a Romanesque crucifix with Christ the Triumphant (around 1160/70) on the left hand-side, while on the right are two modern glass windows made by the artist Thomas Kuzio (2012/2014).

The Nave

The transition from Romanesque to Gothic flows through the cathedral’s nave and two side aisles. It also provides a unique view, with two choir screens separating it from the east and west choirs – the only such configuration in the world! While daylight largely shines unimpaired through the windows of the central nave, the windows in the side aisles contain stained-glass canon windows dating from the start of the 20th century which depict the coats of arms of noble canons. A statue of Luther on the pulpit provides a reminder of the investiture of the world’s first evangelical bishop, Nikolaus von Amsdorf, at Naumburg Cathedral. He was ordained by Martin Luther himself in 1542. The organ was built by the company Eule from Bautzen in 1982.

The East Choir Screen

One of the oldest indoor choir screens in Germany (built around circa 1220) can be found in Naumburg Cathedral. Its three Romanesque arches lend it the character typical of a small hall, while a Gothic crucifix (16th century) sits above a Romanesque frieze of rounded arches depicting various holy figures.

Every Sunday, evangelical services are held in front of the altar of the central cross which sits under the central arch.

The West Choir Screen

The West Choir Screen in Naumburg Cathedral is unique. In eight individual pictures it depicts the events in the bible from Maundy Thursday to Christ bearing the cross. The colourful reliefs show figures with such vibrancy and movement modern-day visitors are imbued with a real sense of the drama of the events of the Passion.

The highlight is the life-sized crucifixion with Christ, the holy mother Mary and the favourite disciple John, who together form the entrance to the West Choir. The plants on the capitals, cornices and cap stones have been realistically worked out of stone. Cherries, hazelnut and ivy can be seen, naturally alongside vines bearing grapes which can also be found in the “Naumburg Master’s Garden”.

The West Choir

The West Choir at Naumburg binds together architecture, sculpture and glasswork. Everything suggests that the overall leadership for its construction and decoration lay in the hands of a single sculptural architect whose steps can be traced right across Europe from north France via Mainz to Naumburg and Meissen. The anonymous architect and stonemason – known as the Naumburg Master – created his most famous work in the West Choir, with the support of his workshop, in just six years of the mid-13th century. – hat gemeinsam mit seiner Bauhütte in der Mitte des 13. Jahrhunderts im Westchor in nur sechs Jahren sein Hauptwerk errichtet.

Above all, the twelve statues of the cathedral’s donors are unique, with their extraordinary and captivating artistic quality and their impressive vibrancy, expressiveness and life-like nature. They depict Count and Countess Gerburg, Konrad, Hermann and Reglindis, Dietmar, Syzzo, Thimo, Ekkehard and Uta, Gepa – also known as Berchta – and Dietrich, who lived during the 10th and 11th centuries. From their number, Uta – a noblewoman with the title of Margravine – stands out in particular, exuding a sense of grace, high status and strong will yet also vulnerability and mystery. She is considered to be the “most beautiful woman of the middle ages” and was the inspiration for Walt Disney’s wicked queen in his film version of Snow White, thus bringing the cathedral to international attention.

The Chapel of St Elizabeth

Almost inconspicuous, the entrance to the Romanesque Chapel of St Elizabeth which features the oldest stone sculpture of St Elizabeth von Thuringia is easily missed. But don’t walk past without looking inside!

The mysterious sculpture of the noblewoman – again in the Romanesque style – has been dated using current science to shortly before the canonisation of Elizabeth (after 1235) and is thus the oldest statue of the saint made of stone.

Since 2007, the Chapel has been fitted with modern glass windows featuring scenes from the saint’s life, created by the Leipzig-based painter Neo Rauch in a striking red, which especially on sunny afternoons gives the chapel a particularly warm ambience.

Other Cathedral Chapels

The Baptism Chapel

Immediately after crossing the main portal, the Baptism Chapel (also known as St Stephen’s Chapel) and its Romanesque font, opens to the side. The three round arch windows are particularly impressive. Two of these windows were created by the artist Thomas Kuzio, who incorporated references to the third window in his design.

Evangelists Chapel

The Evangelists Chapel is located under the Cathedral’s south west tower (approx. 1220). Its present-day name is based on the murals whose remains were discovered in the 19th century. Three windows in the chapel were created by the artist Jochem Poensgen in 2013. The altarpiece dates from the 16th century and was originally from Naumburg before being sold by the congregation of St Othmar’s church in 1915 to the Angermuseum in Erfurt (currently on loan from the Angermuseum).

The Chapel of the Three Kings

Built during the 15th century, the late-Gothic Chapel of the Three Kings, reached from the Cathedral Square via an external staircase, can be recognised from afar thanks to the striking group of statues depicting the three Kings from the nativity story, Mary and child. The radiating vault inside the chapel and the stained three king window dating from the 19th century are spectacular. It offers a place of quiet away from the hustle and bustle of the street and the streams of tourists.

Welterbe NAumburger Dom

Als eines der bedeutendsten Kulturdenkmäler des Hochmittelalters ist der spätromanisch-frühgotische Dom ein Besuchermagnet an der „Straße der Romanik“ und trägt seit dem 1. Juli 2018 den Titel UNESCO-Welterbe. Die größte Anziehungskraft übt der Westchor mit seinen zwölf Stifterfiguren aus. Das Zusammenspiel von Architektur, Skulptur und Glasmalerei – geschaffen durch die Hand eines Bildhauerarchitekten – ist ein Meisterwerk der menschlichen Schöpferkraft. Der Naumburger Meister und seine zu Beginn des 13. Jahrhunderts eingerichtete Werkstatt offenbaren den bereits zur Zeit des Mittelalters gelebten kulturellen Austausch in Europa, lassen sich die Spuren der Bauhütte doch von Nordwestfrankreich über Deutschland bis nach Südwesteuropa verfolgen.
Mit ihrer Lebendigkeit und Ausdrucksstärke ziehen die 12 Stifterfiguren jeden Besucher in ihren Bann. Speziell Markgräfin Uta gilt als das Sinnbild für die „schönste Frau des Mittelalters“. Beeindruckend sind auch die beiden hochmittelalterlichen Lettner, welche die Chöre räumlich vom Kirchenschiff trennen. Zwei erhaltene Lettner in einer Kirche sind einzigartig auf der Welt! Meisterwerke der Romanik und Gotik fügen sich mit Glanzstücken der Gegenwartskunst zu einem eindrucksvollen Ensemble. Doch es gibt im Dom noch viel mehr zu bestaunen. 

Entdecken Sie den Dom mit dem Audioguide oder einer Domführung.

Der Ostchor

Der Ostchor war das liturgische Zentrum des Doms, in ihm findet sich bis heute der Hauptaltar der Kirche. Hier trifft die Romanik des Chorquadrats (13. Jh.) auf die Gotik im Chorabschluss (14. Jh.). Das mittelalterliche Chorgestühl mit seinen beeindruckenden Buchpulten fasziniert schon von weitem und regt durch außergewöhnliche Formen zum Nachdenken an. Lebensecht wirken die Spätwerke des Naumburger Meisters: die Bischofsfigur und die Figur des Diakons (13. Jh.). Mit der Erweiterung erhielt der Ostchor auch die sechs neuen großen gotischen Maßwerkfenster, deren heutiger Glasmalereibestand vom 14. bis zum 21. Jahrhundert reicht. Zur Zeit werden die Glasfenster des Ostchores restauriert, dieser ist deswegen nur eingeschränkt zu sehen.

Handläufe von Heinrich Apel

Zwei moderne Handläufe aus Bronze zieren die Treppenaufgänge hinauf in den Ostchor. Sie wurden vom Magdeburger Künstler Heinrich Apel gestaltet. Detailreich erzählen die Kunstwerke ganz eigene Geschichten. Der „Heilige Franziskus und die Tiere“ (1972) zeigt den Mönch Franz von Assisi, der den Vögeln predigt. „Der schmale Pfad ins Paradies“ (1983) stellt den beschwerlichen Weg der Menschen ins Paradies dar. Der Pfad wird verkörpert von einer Schlange, an der die Menschen nach oben – bis zur Pforte zum Paradies – klettern. Ganz unten lauert der Kopf der Schlange, auf dem der Teufel reitet. An beiden Handläufen lassen sich viele liebevoll gestaltete Details entdecken und ertasten: Tiere, Pflanzen und Figuren aus der Bibel oder der antiken Mythologie.

Die Krypta

Wer die Krypta betritt, wird sofort von ihrer schlichten Wirkung überwältigt. Die dreischiffige Hallenkrypta ist der älteste Bauteil des Naumburger Doms und stammt aus der Zeit des 12. und 13. Jahrhunderts.

Der Mittelteil mit seinen romanischen Säulen und Würfelkapitellen hat eine Besonderheit zu bieten: zwei Wandleuchter in Form eines Propheten und einer Engelin, geschaffen vom Künstler Heinrich Apel.

Der Blick zum Altar offenbart ein romanisches Kruzifx mit Christus als Triumphator (um 1160/70), links und rechts davon zwei moderne Glasfenster des Künstlers Thomas Kuzio (2012/2014).

Das Langhaus

Fließend ist der Übergang von der Romanik zur Gotik im dreischiffigen Langhaus des Doms. Zugleich ein ungewöhnlicher Blick, denn zwei Lettner trennen es zum Ostchor und Westchor ab – dies ist einmalig auf der Welt! Während das Tageslicht weitgehend ungestört durch die Fenster des Mittelschiffs in den Dom strömt, befinden sich in den Fenstern der Seitenschiffe die bunt verglasten Domherrenfenster vom Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts mit den Wappendarstellungen der adligen Domherren. Eine Lutherfigur an der Kanzel erinnert heute an die Amtseinsetzung des ersten evangelischen Bischofs der Welt, Nikolaus von Amsdorf, im Naumburger Dom. Ihn hatte Martin Luther 1542 persönlich ordiniert. Die Orgel der Orgelbaufirma Eule aus Bautzen stammt aus dem Jahr 1982.

Der Ostlettner

Einer der ältesten Hallenlettner Deutschlands (um 1220) befindet sich im Naumburger Dom. Seine drei romanischen Gewölbe verleihen ihm den typischen Charakter einer kleinen Halle, während ein gotisches Kruzifix (16. Jh.) über dem ebenfalls romanischen Rundbogenfries mit der Darstellung verschiedener Heiligenfiguren thront.

Vor dem Kreuzaltar, der sich in das mittlere Joch einfügt, wird sonntags evangelischer Gottesdienst gefeiert.

Der Westlettner

Einzigartig ist der Naumburger Westlettner. Er schildert in acht Einzelbildern das biblische Geschehen vom Gründonnerstag bis zur Kreuztragung Christi. Die farbigen Reliefs zeigen die Figuren in einer Lebendigkeit und Bewegtheit, die den heutigen Betrachter die Dramatik des Passionsgeschehens erspüren lassen.

Höhepunkt ist die lebensgroß präsentierte Kreuzigung mit Christus, der Gottesmutter Maria und dem Lieblingsjünger Johannes, die gemeinsam den Eingang zum Westchor bilden. Beeindruckend realistisch wurden die Pflanzen der Kapitelle, Simse und Schlusssteine aus dem Stein gearbeitet. Zu entdecken sind neben Kirsche, Haselnuss und Efeu natürlich auch Weinlaub mit Weinreben, die auch im „Garten des Naumburger Meisters“ wieder zu finden sind.

Der Westchor

Der Naumburger Westchor ist eine Einheit aus Architektur, Skulptur und Glasmalerei. Alles spricht dafür, dass die Gesamtleitung für Bau und Bauschmuck in der Hand eines einzigen Bildhauerarchitekten lag, dessen Spuren sich von Nordfrankreich über Mainz nach Naumburg und Meißen quer durch Europa nachvollziehen lassen. Dieser namentlich unbekannte Architekt und Steinbildhauer – der sogenannte Naumburger Meister hat gemeinsam mit seiner Bauhütte in der Mitte des 13. Jahrhunderts im Westchor in nur sechs Jahren sein Hauptwerk errichtet.

Vor allem die zwölf Stifterfiguren sind einzigartig, bestechen durch ihre außergewöhnliche künstlerische Qualität und beeindrucken durch ihre Lebendigkeit, Realitätsnähe und Ausdrucksstärke. Dargestellt werden die Grafen und Gräfinnen Gerburg, Konrad, Hermann und Reglindis, Dietmar, Syzzo, Thimo, Ekkehard und Uta, Gepa – auch Berchta geannnt – und Dietrich, die im 10./11. Jahrhundert lebten. Aus diesem Ensemble sticht die Markgräfin Uta heraus, sie wirkt anmutig, erhaben, entschlossen und zugleich verletzlich und geheimnisvoll. Sie gilt als de „schönste Frau des Mittelalters“ und war das Vorbild für Walt Disneys böse Königin in seiner Verfilmung des Märchens Schneewittchen, so machte sie den Dom weltbekannt.

Die Elisabethkapelle

Fast unscheinbar ist der Zugang zur romanischen Elisabethkapelle mit der ältesten Steinskulptur der Heiligen Elisabeth von Thüringen. Sie sollten jedoch nicht verpassen, einen Blick hinein zu werfen!

Die geheimnisvolle Skulptur der Landgräfin – noch in romanischem Stil – ist nach bisherigem Wissensstand bereits kurz nach der Heiligsprechung Elisabeths (nach 1235) entstanden und damit wohl die älteste Figur der Heiligen aus Stein.

Seit 2007 befinden sich in der Kapelle moderne Glasfenster mit Szenen aus dem Leben der Heiligen, die von dem Leipziger Maler Neo Rauch in einem auffälligen Rot gestaltet wurden und insbesondere an sonnigen Nachmittagen der Kapelle eine besonders warme Atmopshäre verleihen.

Weitere Domkapellen

Die Taufkapelle

Gleich nach dem Durchschreiten des Hauptportals öffnet sich seitlich die Taufkapelle (auch Stephanuskapelle genannt) mit einem romanischen Taufstein. Eindrucksvoll sind hier die drei Rundbogenfenster. Zwei davon schuf der Künstler Thomas Kuzio, der in seiner Gestaltung auf das dritte Fenster Bezug nahm.

Die Dreikönigskapelle

Im 15. Jahrhundert entstand die spätgotische Dreikönigskapelle, die über eine äußere Treppe vom Domplatz aus erreichbar und durch die auffällige Figurengruppe der Heiligen Drei Könige sowie Maria mit dem Kind schon von weitem erkennbar ist. Das Strahlengewölbe im Inneren sowie das farbige Dreikönigsfenster aus dem 19. Jahrhundert werden Sie verzaubern. Aufgrund ihrer Abgelegenheit vom Trubel der Straße und des Touristenstroms wird sie als „Raum der Stille“ genutzt.

Evangelistenkapelle

Die Evangelistenkapelle ist der Kapellenraum unter dem Südwestturm der Domkirche (ca. 1220er Jahre). Der heutige Name geht auf Wandmalereien zurück, deren Reste noch im 19. Jahrhundert zu sehen waren. Drei Fenster in der Kapelle sind vom Künstler Jochem Poensgen aus dem Jahr 2013. Das Altarbild ist aus dem 16. Jahrhundert, das ursprünglich aus Naumburg stammt und 1915 von der Othmarsgemeinde an das Erfurter Angermuseum verkaufte wurde (gegenwärtig Leihgabe des Angermuseums).