The Cathedral Graveyard

At the moment, the Cathedral Cemetery must unfortunately remain closed. We kindly ask for your understanding.

The cathedral graveyard was initially laid out in the cathedral precincts in the mid 16th century as a resting place for the congregation of the Cathedral Church of St Mary. By the end of the 16th century, dignitaries from the cathedral, who both previously and for a long time after were entitled to a burial in the cathedral itself, began to be laid to rest in the graveyard.

Until the early 20th century, canons and pastors of Naumburg Cathedral and senior administrators were entitled to a burial plot. The cathedral graveyard gradually lost its importance following the opening of the new municipal cemetery on Weißenfelser Straße in 1901. However, even after that certain exalted persons (e.g. the cathedral deans) continued to be buried in the cathedral graveyard.

Since 2014, the cathedral graveyard which is maintained by the Vereinigte Domstifter has been open to the public again as a space for peace and reflection, and since 2016 has been used again as a final resting place.

Accessible via Windmühlenstraße or Lindenring

April to September | 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
October to November | 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

For burials in the cathedral graveyard please contact
Grit Schödel, Treasurer of the Vereinigte Domstifter.


By-laws (in German)  

Satzung für den Friedhof des Doms St. Peter und Paul in Naumburg, Stand 29.06.2015 (pdf)

The Vereinigte Domstifter possess a particular gem in the cathedral graveyard in the form of the Chapel of St John, dedicated to St John the Baptist. The Chapel of St John was originally located in a canon house to the south of the Cathedral and was built early in the second half of the 13th century by a builder trained in the French Gothic style. The chapel has stood in Naumburg Cathedral’s graveyard since 1864. Inside, a triple-arched vault is adorned with artistic cap stones and foliage-inspired capitals. The cap stone previously found in the chapel and now found in the cloister of Naumburg Cathedral depicts a bust of St John the Baptist with a sacrificial lamb. A copy now sits above the entrance to the chapel.

The impressive glass window was designed in 2014 by the Leipzig-based artist David Schnell and was created together with Derix Glasstudios in Taunusstein. The window is able to remain in the chapel thanks to an amicable arrangement with the artist and the gallery EIGEN + ART in Leipzig and Berlin plus a generous private donation.

ST JOHN’S DAY 2020
A lovely tradition in a very special location

On 24th June at 7 p.m., the evangelical congregation of Naumburg cordially invites you to a service dedicated to St John in the cathedral graveyard. This is a special event at a very special location.

St John’s Day is still celebrated by the German Evangelical Church at a feast marking the height of summer. The festival centres on John the Baptist, the Jewish preacher who appeared in Galilee and baptised Jesus in the Jordan. The day is linked to the summer solstice and the custom of lighting a fire.

Der Domfriedhof

Der Domfriedhof wurde um die Mitte des 16. Jahrhunderts zunächst für die Verstorbenen der Mariengemeinde der Domfreiheit angelegt. Schon Ende des 16. Jahrhunderts finden sich erste hohe Würdenträger des Domkapitels auf dem Friedhof, die zuvor und auch noch lange danach das Recht zur Bestattung in der Domkirche besaßen.

Bis in das 20. Jahrhundert hinein hatten Naumburger Domherren, Domprediger und höhere Verwaltungsmitarbeiter Anspruch auf eine Grabstelle. Mit der Eröffnung des neuen städtischen Friedhofs in der Weißenfelser Straße im Jahr 1901 nahm die Bedeutung des Domfriedhofs langsam ab. Aber auch danach wurden noch herausgehobene Persönlichkeiten (z.B. Domdechanten) auf dem Domfriedhof bestattet.

Seit 2014 ist der in Trägerschaft der Vereinigten Domstifter befindliche Domfriedhof als Ort der Ruhe und Besinnung für die Öffentlichkeit wieder zugänglich und seit 2016 wird er auch wieder als letzte Ruhestätte genutzt.

Zugang über Windmühlenstraße oder Lindenring

April bis September | 9.00 – 18.00 Uhr
Oktober bis November | 9.00 – 16.00 Uhr

Für Bestattungen auf dem Domfriedhof wenden Sie sich bitte an
Grit Schödel, Stiftskämmerin der Vereinigten Domstifter.


Satzung  

Satzung für den Friedhof des Doms St. Peter und Paul in Naumburg, Stand 29.06.2015 (pdf)

Mit der nach Johannes dem Täufer gewidmeten Johanneskapelle auf dem Domfriedhof besitzen die Vereinigten Domstifter einen besonderen Schatz. Die Johanneskapelle, welche sich ursprünglich auf einem Domherrenhof südlich des Doms befand, wurde zu Beginn der zweiten Hälfte des 13. Jahrhunderts von einem an der französischen Gotik geschulten Baumeister errichtet. Seit 1864 steht die Kapelle auf dem Naumburger Domfriedhof. Im Inneren zeigt sich ein Gewölbe in drei Jochen mit kunstvoll gearbeiteten Schlusssteinen und Laubkapitellen. Der ehemalige Schlussstein der Kapelle, heute im Kreuzgang des Naumburger Doms zu sehen und als Kopie über dem Eingang zur Kapelle angebracht ist, zeigt ein Brustbild Johannes des Täufers mit Opferlamm.

Die beeindruckenden Glasfenster wurden 2014 von dem Leipziger Künstler David Schnell entworfen und gemeinsam mit den Derix Glasstudios Taunusstein umgesetzt. Dank des freundlichen Entgegenkommens des Künstlers und der Galerie EIGEN + ART Leipzig/Berlin sowie einer großzügigen Privatspende aus Freyburg können die Fenster in der Kapelle verbleiben.

JOHANNESTAG 2020
Eine schöne Tradition an einem ganz besonderen Ort

Am 24. Juni um 19.00 Uhr lädt die Evangelische Kirchengemeinde Naumburg herzlich ein zur Johannesandacht auf dem Domfriedhof. Es ist eine besondere Stunde an einem ganz besonderen Ort.

Der Johannistag wird auch heute noch in der evangelischen Kirche als ein Fest des Sommerhöhepunktes gefeiert. Im Zentrum steht der jüdische Bußprediger Johannes der Täufer, der in Galiläa auftrat und Jesus am Jordan taufte. Verknüpft ist der Tag mit der Sommersonnenwende und dem Brauchtum, ein Feuer zu entzünden.