Cultural Treasures around the Saale and Unstrut

Naumburg Cathedral is at the centre of a remarkable cultural landscape.
Around the river Saale and its tributary Unstrut the middle ages can be glimpsed in all its glory. The wide-reaching developments of the 13th century in art, architecture and landscaping are reflected in important monuments and centuries-old cultivation. The interplay between medieval-inspired nature and culture is unique around the world. Among its vineyards, castles and monasteries so many of our visitors succumb to the charms of the Saale-Unstrut region.

Cathedral city and site of Lutheranism: Welcome to Naumburg!

Naumburg looks back over 1,000 years of history which you can sense from wandering its medieval alleyways. Search for traces of Johann Sebastian Bach at the Church of St Wenceslaus with its famous Hildebrandt organ, meet Friedrich Nietzsche at the Nietzsche-Haus museum or taste Naumburger Bier at the Ratskeller. Martin Luther, the church reformer visited the cathedral city on numerous occasions and even inaugurated the first Lutheran bishop here. Right in the centre of the land of wine and stone, don’t miss the opportunity to taste the region’s wines at one of the numerous Straußwirtschaft or wine taverns.

Naumburg Tourist Information
Markt 6 | 06618 Naumburg
Tel.: +49 (0)3445 273125
tourismus@naumburg.de
www.naumburg.de

Charms and romantic organ music at Merseburg Cathedral

The 1,000-year-old Imperial Cathedral in Merseburgholds major cultural and historical significance and lies just 40 minutes away by car. The Cathedral and Castle complex sited idyllically on the banks of the river Saale with its impressive array of treasures and chapter house garden was a favoured location of German kings and queens and contains invaluable cultural artefacts like the Merseburg Charms.
Immerse yourself in the sounds of the famous Romantic-era Ladegast organ at one of its many concerts.

Top tip: Make use of our Naumburg Merseburg combi ticket!
(including audio guide at both sites)

Adults: 13,00 €


Concessions (students, apprentices, recipients of level II unemployment benefit, holders of a severe disability card): 9,50 €


School-aged children: 5,00 €

Discover the mystery of the writings in the Zeitz Abbey Library

The medieval and early modern holdings of the Zeitz Abbey Library belong to the oldest and most important book collections in Central Germany. The unity of the historically grown holdings, which can be admired here in special rooms, is unique. In total, the Abbey Library contains 40,000 volumes. It is made up of several individual libraries, including the book collection of the Naumburg bishops, the Zeitz canon's library, the Zeitz council school or high school library and the humanist scholars' library of the last Naumburg bishop Julius Pflug (1499-1564). 

Visit 
Tuesday and Thursday
10 a.m. to 4 p.m.


guided tours from April-October on the last Saturday of each month at 13.00


Top tip: You can always find current readings and events in the calendar!

The Inspiring Six
World Heritage in Saxony-Anhalt

Naumburg Cathedral is one of the six inspiring UNESCO World Heritage Sites in the beautiful tourist destination of Saxony-Anhalt. Testimonies from over 7000 years of German and European history have been preserved in a unique density.

Garden landscapes from the Age of Enlightenment, picturesque old towns from the Middle Ages, architectural milestones - the cultural heritage in Saxony-Anhalt is large and varied. 

Discover also the other world heritage sites in DessauWörlitzQuedlinburgHall and the Luther towns of Eisleben and Wittenberg!

www.welterbe-sachsen-anhalt.de

Land of wine and stone

The countryside surrounding the Saale and Unstrut rivers holds delights for lovers of history, wine connoisseurs and activity-seekers alike. Castles, cities, cathedrals and monasteries provide testimony to the former splendour of the high middle ages and harbour world-renowned works of art. Indulge yourself in the land of wine and stone with a glass of bubbly or the noble drop. Those keen on walking, cycling or watersports will find plenty on offer among the vineyard-clad hills, rivers and the Saale cycle trail.

For information on everything the region has to offer including events and highlights:

Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus
Tel.: +49 (0) 3445 233790
info@saale-unstrut-tourismus.de
www.saale-unstrut-tourismus.de

In order to obtain current and comparable data on the guest structure and the evaluation of the offer, the Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V. participates in the Germany-wide guest survey. Results are expected to be available in the summer of 2023 after the survey period is complete. You can participate here:

https://webmark.manova.at/t/destinationen/polls/qm_urlaub/language_selector?u=815023.JLGGN&fit=qr

Along the Romanesque Route

The "Romanesque Route" brought to life in 1993 links individual buildings showcasing medieval architecture. Since 2007, it has been connected to the cultural route known as TRANSROMANICA, recognised by the European Council, which links Romanesque buildings in Saxony-Anhalt, Austria, Italy, Spain, France, Portugal, Romania and Serbia.

Let yourself be amazed by the beautiful round arches and noble symmetry of the middle ages.

Garden Dreams: Historic parks and gardens in Saxony-Anhalt

Whether rambling estates with grand boulevards and baroque floral displays, well-groomed monastery gardens full of herbs and medicinal plants or botanic gardens abundant with the exotic – gardens and parks have offered a place to dream and reflect for hundreds of years. The 50 most beautiful parks and gardens in Saxony-Anhalt have come together to create a green network to whisk you away along scented paths, past charming sculptures, romantic castles and manor houses to the most intimate places the state has to offer. Picnics, flower markets, nocturnal strolls or classical concerts in idyllic settings, create your own unforgettable moment.

Discover Thuringia with the Weimar Card Plus

With the weimar card plus follow in the footsteps of great poets, thinkers
and musicians in Weimar and the Thuringian surroundings! The card opens the doors to 27 Weimar museums and 14 Thuringian palaces, castles and exhibitions as well as the World Heritage Site Naumburg Cathedral in Saxony-Anhalt. The weimar card plus is valid for four days (96 hours) and is available for 59.50 euros at the Naumburg Cathedral ticket office and other participating institutions. 

All information about the weimar card plus and all participating partners can be found in the associated Accompanying booklet.

The State Garden Show in Beelitz

From April 14 until October 31, 2022, the National Garden Show will take place in Beelitz. Its motto is "Garden festival for all senses". This motif runs as a common thread through the flower shows and the programme of events: Beelitz and the region invite you to celebrate, enjoy and feast for an entire summer. Designed nature and historical city space become the common scenery of a special garden festival. During six months, Beelitz expects hundreds of thousands of guests who will enjoy flowers, perennials, unusual plants, the famous asparagus and romantic green spaces together with the inhabitants of the town.

KulturAkademie: for people who want to know more

This not-for-profit organisation strives to create a welcoming culture in the Naumburg region. Offering a range of cultural activities, the KulturAkademie brings you closer to educational and applied art, history, architecture and philosophy, reveals the latest research and conveys exclusive practical knowledge.

KulturAkademie Naumburg e.V.
Domplatz 19 | 06618 Naumburg (Saale)
Phone: +49 (0)3445 65 98 99 4
info@kulturakademie-naumburg.de
www.kulturakademie-naumburg.de

Kulturschätze zwischen Saale und Unstrut

Der Naumburger Dom ist das Zentrum einer bemerkenswerten Kulturlandschaft:
An Saale und Unstrut wird die Zeit des Hochmittelalters für Sie lebendig. Die tiefgreifenden Entwicklungen des 13. Jahrhunderts in Kunst, Architektur und Landschaftsbau spiegeln sich in bedeutenden Monumenten und jahrhundertealter Kultivierung wider. Das Zusammenspiel aus mittelalterlich geprägter Natur und Kultur ist weltweit einmalig. Zwischen Weinbergen, Burgen und Klöstern erlag schon so mancher unserer Besucher dem Charme der Saale-Unstrut-Region.

Domstadt und Lutherort: Willkommen in Naumburg!

Naumburg blickt auf eine 1000-jährige Geschichte zurück, die Sie in den mittelalterlichen Gässchen nachempfinden können. Begeben Sie sich in der Wenzelskirche mit der berühmten Hildebrandtorgel auf Spurensuche Johann Sebastian Bachs, begegnen Sie Friedrich Nietzsche im Nietzsche-Haus oder kosten Sie Naumburger Bier im Ratskeller. Der Reformator war gleich mehrere Male in der Domstadt zu Gast und weihte hier sogar den ersten lutherischen Bischof. Im Zentrum des Landes aus Wein und Stein sollten Sie sich auch eine Verkostung der regionalen Weine in den zahlreichen Straußwirtschaften nicht nehmen lassen.

Tourist-Information Naumburg
Markt 6 | 06618 Naumburg
Tel.: +49 (0)3445 27 31 25
tourismus@naumburg.de
www.naumburg.de

Zaubersprüche und romantische Orgelklänge im Merseburger Dom

Von herausragender kulturgeschichtlicher Bedeutung ist der 1000-jährige Kaiserdom in Merseburg, der nur 40 Autominuten entfernt liegt. Das traumhaft an der Saale gelegene Dom-Schloss-Ensemble mit seinem eindrucksvollen Domschatz und dem Kapitelhausgarten war Lieblingsort deutscher Kaiser und Könige und birgt unvergleichliche Kulturschätze wie die berühmten Merseburger Zaubersprüche.
Lauschen Sie auch den romantischen Orgelklängen der berühmten Ladegastorgel bei einem der vielen Konzerte.

Tipp: Nutzen Sie unsere Kombikarte Naumburg-Merseburg!
(inkl. Audioguide an beiden Standorten)

Erwachsener: 13,00 €


Stud., Azubi, ALG II, Schwerb. ab 50 %: 9,50 €


Schüler: 5,00 €

Entdecken Sie das Geheimnis der Schriften in der Zeitzer Stiftsbibliothek

Die mittelalterlichen und frühneuzeitlichen Bestände der Zeitzer Stiftsbibliothek gehören zu den ältesten und bedeutendsten Büchersammlungen in Mitteldeutschland. Einzigartig ist die Geschlossenheit der historisch gewachsenen Bestände, die hier in besonderen Räumen bewundert werden können. Insgesamt umfasst die Stiftsbibliothek 40.000 Bände. Sie setzt sich aus mehreren Einzelbibliotheken zusammen, zu denen die Büchersammlung der Naumburger Bischöfe, die Zeitzer Domherrenbibliothek, die Zeitzer Ratsschul- bzw. Gymnasialbibliothek und die humanistische Gelehrtenbibliothek des letzten Naumburger Bischofs Julius Pflug (1499–1564) gehören. 

Besichtigung 
Dienstag und Donnerstag
10.00–16.00 Uhr


Führungen von April-Oktober an jedem letzten Samstag im Monat um 13.00 Uhr


Tipp: Lesungen und Veranstaltungen finden Sie immer aktuell im Veranstaltungskalender!

6 Staunenswerte:
Weltkultur in Sachsen-Anhalt

Der Naumburger Dom gehört zu den sechs staunenswerten UNESCO-Welterbestätten im wunderschönen Reiseland Sachsen-Anhalt. In einer einmaligen Dichte sind Zeugnisse aus über 7000 Jahren deutscher und europäischer Geschichte erhalten geblieben.

Gartenlandschaften aus der Zeit der Aufklärung, malerische Altstädte des Mittelalters, Meilensteine der Architektur – das kulturelle Erbe in Sachsen-Anhalt ist groß und vielfältig. 

Entdecken Sie auch die anderen Welterbestätten in DessauWörlitzQuedlinburgHalle und den Lutherstädten Eisleben und Wittenberg!

www.welterbe-sachsen-anhalt.de

Land aus Stein und Wein

In den Flusslandschaften um Saale und Unstrut finden Geschichtsliebhaber, Weinkenner wie auch Aktivurlauber, was das Herz begehrt. Burgen, Städte, Dome und Klöster zeugen vom einstigen Glanz des Hochmittelalters und bergen Kunstschätze von weltweitem Rang. Das Land aus Wein und Stein verwöhnt mit so manch prickelndem Gläschen oder edlem Tropfen. Wanderer, Wassersportler oder Radfahrer wiederum werden in den Weinbergen, auf den Flüssen oder dem Saaleradweg aktiv.

Alle Angebote, Veranstaltungen und Highlights der Region:

Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus
Tel.: +49 (0)3445 23 37 90
info@saale-unstrut-tourismus. de
www.saale-unstrut-tourismus.de

Um aktuelle und vergleichbare Daten zur Gästestruktur und zur Bewertung des Angebotes zu erhalten, beteiligt sich der Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V. an der deutschlandweiten Gästebefragung. Die Ergebnisse werden nach Abschluss des Erhebungszeitraumes voraussichtlich im Sommer 2023 vorliegen. Hier können Sie daran teilnehmen:

https://webmark.manova.at/t/destinationen/polls/qm_urlaub/language_selector?u=815023.JLGGN&fit=qr

Entlang der Straße der Romanik

Die 1993 ins Leben gerufene „Straße der Romanik“ versammelt einmalige Baudenkmäler mittelalterlicher Architektur. Seit 2007 ist sie europaweit vernetzt und Teil der vom Europarat ausgewiesenen Europäischen Kulturstraße TRANSROMANICA, die Romanikbauwerke in Sachsen-Anhalt, Österreich, Italien, Spanien, Frankreich, Portugal, Rumänien und Serbien miteinander verbindet.

Lassen Sie sich von den schönsten Rundbögen und der erhabenen Symmetrie des Mittelalters verzaubern.

Gartenträume: Historische Parks und Gärten in Sachsen-Anhalt

Ob weitläufige Schlossparks mit hochherrschaftlichen Alleen und barocker Blumenpracht, gepflegte Klostergärten voller Kräuter und Heilpflanzen oder botanische Gärten mit überbordender Exotik – Gärten und Parkanlagen laden seit Jahrhunderten zum Träumen und Sinneswandeln ein. Die 50 schönsten Parks und Gärten Sachsen-Anhalts haben sich deshalb in einem grünen Netzwerk zusammengeschlossen, um Sie auf duftenden Wegen vorbei an reizvollen Skulpturen, romantischen Schlössern und Gutshäusern zu den lauschigsten Plätzen des Landes zu entführen. Picknicks, Pflanzenmärkte, nachtschwärmerische Rundgänge oder klassische Konzerte vor traumhafter Kulisse sorgen für unvergessliche Momente.

Mit der Weimar Card Plus Thüringen entdecken

Mit der weimar card plus folgen Sie den Spuren großer Dichter, Denker
und Musiker in Weimar und in die Thüringer Umgebung! Die Karte öffnet Ihnen die Türen zu 27 Weimarer Museen und 14 Thüringer Schlösser, Burgen und Ausstellungen sowie der Welterbestätte Naumburger Dom in Sachsen-Anhalt. Die weimar card plus gilt für vier Tage (96 Stunden) und ist für 59,50 Euro an der Naumburger Domkasse sowie in anderen beteiligten Institutionen erhältlich. 

Alle Informationen zur weimar card plus und allen beteiligten Partnern erhalten Sie im zugehörigen Begleitheft.

Die Landesgartenschau in Beelitz

Vom 14. April bis zum 31. Oktober 2022 findet die Landesgartenschau in Beelitz statt. Sie steht unter dem Motto »Gartenfest für alle Sinne«. Dieses Motiv zieht sich als roter Faden durch die Blumenschauen und das Veranstaltungsprogramm: Beelitz und die Region laden ein, einen ganzen Sommer lang zu feiern, zu genießen und zu schlemmen. Gestaltete Natur und historischer Stadtraum werden zur gemeinsamen Szenerie eines besonderen Gartenfestes. Während sechs Monaten erwartet Beelitz hunderttausende Gäste, die gemeinsam mit den Bewohner*innen der Stadt Blumen, Stauden, außergewöhnliche Pflanzen, den berühmten Spargel sowie romantische Grünanlagen genießen werden.

KulturAkademie: für Menschen, die mehr wissen wollen

Der gemeinnützige Verein setzt sich für eine herzliche Willkommenskultur in der Region Naumburg ein. Mit vielfältigen Angeboten der kulturellen Vermittlung bringt Ihnen die KulturAkademie relevante Themen im Bereich der bildenden und angewandten Kunst, Geschichte, Architektur und Philosophie näher, erläutert neueste Forschungsergebnisse und vermittelt exklusives Praxiswissen.

KulturAkademie Naumburg e.V.
Domplatz 19 | 06618 Naumburg (Saale)
Tel.: +49 (0)3445 65 98 99 4
info@kulturakademie-naumburg.de
www.kulturakademie-naumburg.de