Restoration of the East Choir facade of Naumburg Cathedral begins

In order to further preserve the substance of the shell limestone of Naumburg Cathedral, a repair of the facade of the East Choir is urgently required, because the damage is obvious and endangers the substance, explains the cathedral's master builder Regine Hartkopf: "The blackening of the limestone is due to the formation of gypsum crusts. These are mainly due to earlier negative environmental influences as a result of acid rain. They cause serious damage: the dense dark crusts heat up more than the light-coloured stone of the facade, which leads to different thermal expansion, the crusts bulge up and flake off. This is accompanied by a loss of substance of the limestone. The aim of facade repair should be to minimise further damage caused by crusts on the surface as far as possible, or, if possible, to exclude them.”

The restoration of the façade will be carried out in two phases until 2021, and the scaffolding for the work was recently erected. The actual restoration work will be carried out using beam and laser technology. First of all, a large sample area is created with a wet beam. Then the work continues on the entire facade. After the wet blasting, a worldwide unique laser is used, which "burns" the crusts.  

The project has a budget of 800,000 euros and is enabled by the federal government's structural aid.

At the same time the windows of the East Choir will be restored, the scaffolding is also planned for this, as the tracery of the windows will also be renewed.

Glass Restoration at Naumburg Cathedral: Project Work Secured until the end of 2020

Since December 2017, a team from the glass restoration workshop has been working closely with project manager Dr. Ivo Rauch and under the overall direction of the cathedral's master builder, Regine Hartkopf, on the magnificent West Choir windows of Naumburg Cathedral. Within the framework of the project "Glass Restoration at Naumburg Cathedral", they are to be restored and preventively secured by means of extensive measures.

With the updated subsidy decision of 11 October 2018, the measure is secured until the end of 2020. This means that the windows of the Naumburg East Choir can now also be included in the project.

Financing of the Project

Total costs: 2 million euros
Financing by:

  • Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and Media (BKM)
  • State of Saxony-Anhalt
  • Ostdeutsche Sparkassenstiftung together with Sparkasse Burgenlandkreis
  • Rudolf-August Oetker-Stiftung
  • Ernst-von-Siemens-Kunststiftung with a patron
  • HERMANN REEMTSMA STIFTUNG

Duration of current work: 2017 to probably 2020

Current work

While the work on the windows in the West Choir is almost complete and it will soon be possible to see it again completely without restrictions, extensive work on the glass windows in the East Choir has begun from September 2019. In order to make the restoration work as efficient and safe as possible, all the windows of the East Choir were scaffolded at once. The work is scheduled to take one year. The sights of the East Choir will remain visible for the guest, because works of art such as the altar of the Virgin Mary and the unique deacon were given a new place in the cathedral for a transitional period.

During the restoration work in the west choir, among other things, the glass was cleaned in a dry state with a brush and scalpel, synthetic resins from earlier restorations were removed, the surrounding lettering was highlighted and the historical painting layer was strengthened. Small cracks in the glass were glued, lead fractures were secured and small areas were repaired. Finally, the glass fields were given a brass edging for stabilization.

Share article

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on print
Share on email
Scroll-To-Top-Button
EN
Skip to content

Instandsetzung der Ostchor-Fassade des Naumburger Doms beginnt

Um die Substanz des Muschelkalksteins des Naumburger Doms weiter zu erhalten, ist eine Instandsetzung der Fassade des Ostchores dringend geboten, denn die Schäden sind deutlich und substanzgefährdend, erklärt die Dombaumeisterin Regine Hartkopf: „Die Verschwärzung des Kalksteins beruht auf der Bildung von Gipskrusten. Diese sind vor allem auf frühere negative Umwelteinflüsse in der Folge von saurem Regen zurückzuführen. Sie verursachen gravierende Schäden: Die dichten dunklen Krusten erhitzen sich stärker als der helle Stein der Fassade, dies führt zu unterschiedlicher thermischer Dehnung, die Krusten wölben sich auf und platzen ab. Damit geht Substanzverlust des Kalksteins einher. Das Ziel der Fassadeninstandsetzung soll sein, weitere Schädigungen durch aufliegende Krusten soweit wie möglich zu minimieren, beziehungsweise wenn möglich auszuschließen“.

Die Instandsetzung der Fassade erfolgt in zwei Abschnitten bis 2021. Die Gerüste für die Arbeiten wurden vor kurzem gestellt. Die eigentlichen Sanierungsarbeiten erfolgen mittels Abstrahlens und Lasertechnik. Zuerst wird eine große Musterfläche mit einem Feuchtstrahl erstellt. Dann gehen die Arbeiten an der gesamten Fassade weiter. Nach dem Feuchtstrahlen kommt ein weltweit einzigartiger Laser zum Einsatz, der die Krusten „verbrennt“.  

Für das Projekt stehen 800.000 Euro zur Verfügung, es wird möglich gemacht durch die Strukturhilfemittel des Bundes.

Zeitgleich werden die Fenster des Ostchores restauriert, auch dafür ist das Gerüst vorgesehen, da auch das Maßwerk der Fenster erneuert wird.

Glasrestaurierung am Naumburger Dom: Projektarbeiten bis Ende 2020 gesichert

Bereits seit Dezember 2017 widmet sich ein Team der Glasrestaurierungswerkstatt in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Projektleiter Dr. Ivo Rauch und unter der Gesamtleitung der Dombaumeisterin, Regine Hartkopf, den prachtvollen Westchorfenstern des Naumburger Doms. Im Rahmen des Projekts „Glasrestaurierung am Naumburger Dom“ sollen diese durch umfangreiche Maßnahmen restauriert und präventiv gesichert werden.

Mit dem aktualisierten Fördermittelbescheid vom 11. Oktober 2018 ist die Maßnahme bis Ende 2020 gesichert. Dies bedeutet, dass nun auch die Fenster des Naumburger Ostchores in das Projekt einbezogen werden können.

Finanzierung des Projekts

Kosten gesamt: 2 Millionen Euro
Finanzierung durch:

  • Die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien
  • Land Sachsen-Anhalt
  • Ostdeutsche Sparkassenstiftung gemeinsam mit der Sparkasse Burgenlandkreis
  • Rudolf-August Oetker-Stiftung
  • Ernst-von-Siemens-Kunststiftung mit einem Mäzen
  • HERMANN REEMTSMA STIFTUNG

Dauer der aktuellen Arbeiten: 2017 bis voraussichtlich 2020

Aktuelle Arbeiten

Während die Arbeiten der Fenster im Westchor fast abgeschlossen sind und dieser bald wieder vollkommen ohne Einschränkungen zu sehen ist, haben ab September 2019 die umfangreichen Arbeiten an den Glasfenstern im Ostchor begonnen. Um die Restaurierungsarbeiten so effizient und sicher wie möglich zu gestalten, wurden alle Fenster des Ostchores auf einmal eingerüstet. Die Arbeiten sollen ein Jahr dauern. Die Sehenswürdigkeiten, die sich dort befanden, werden für den Gast weiter sichtbar bleiben, denn Kunstwerke wie der Marienaltar und der einmalige Diakon, erhielten für eine Übergangszeit einen neuen Platz im Dom.

Bei den Restaurierungsarbeiten im Westchor wurde unter anderem das Glas im trockenen Zustand mit Pinsel und Skalpell gereinigt, Kunstharze früherer Restaurierungen abgenommen, der umlaufende Schriftzug hervorgehoben und die historische Malschicht gefestigt. Kleinere Glassprünge wurden geklebt, Bleibrüche gesichert und kleine Bereiche nachgekittet. Zuletzt erhielten die Glasfelder eine Messingeinfassung zur Stabilisierung.

Beitrag Teilen

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on print
Share on email
Scroll-To-Top-Button