Record number of visitors at Naumburg Cathedral

Last year, 147.938 people visited Naumburg Cathedral - there have not been so many visitors since the 2011 state exhibition. "I am delighted about every single guest we welcome to Naumburg Cathedral and to whom we are able to offer an unforgettable time in our unique World Heritage Site", emphasizes Dr Holger Kunde, director of Vereinigte Domstifter. "The response of visitors and travel groups encourages us in our task and motivates us to offer guests from all over the world a special stay again this year. We certainly owe the increase to the UNESCO World Heritage title, because compared to 2017 - i.e. before the title - this is an increase of 16 percent and we want to achieve this continuous trend this year as well", Dr Kunde continues.

In 2020 the service for the guest will be expanded even further, so the cathedral shop will be more attractive and with new products, the guided tours for groups have been revised and in the KinderDomBauhütte there will be new projects for children and adults. For the visitor, the West Choir will soon also be completely visible again without any restrictions, as the extensive restoration of the stained glass windows in this area is almost complete and the windows are shining in new splendour.

The Vereinigte Domstifter will, however, continue to be involved in many construction projects around the cathedral. For example, the windows of the East Choir will be restored by the end of the year. In addition, the restoration of the facade will be carried out in two phases until 2021, starting as soon as possible, although this is highly dependent on the weather. In addition, the restoration of the buildings Neuer Steinweg 1 and 2, Domplatz 1 and 1a and Domplatz 5, 6 and 20 is scheduled. Planning and tenders are underway here.

Visitor numbers

2015: 125.987
2016: 123.771
2017: 124.045
2018: 137.693
2019: 147.938

Scroll-To-Top-Button
EN
Skip to content

Besucherrekord im Naumburger Dom

Den Naumburger Dom besuchten im vergangenen Jahr 147.938 Menschen – so viele Besucher gab es seit der Landesausstellung 2011 nicht mehr. „Ich freue mich über jeden einzelnen Gast, den wir im Naumburger Dom begrüßen und dem wir eine unvergessliche Zeit in unserem einzigartigen Welterbe ermöglichen dürfen“, betont der Stiftsdirektor der Vereinigten Domstifter Dr. Holger Kunde. „Die Resonanz der Besucher und Reisegruppen bestärkt uns in unserer Aufgabe und motiviert uns auch in diesem Jahr den Gästen aus aller Welt einen besonderen Aufenthalt zu bieten. Mit Sicherheit haben wir den Anstieg dem UNESCO-Welterbetitel zu verdanken, denn im Vergleich zu 2017 – also vor dem Titel – ist das eine Steigerung von 16 Prozent und diesen kontinuierlichen Trend wollen wir auch in diesem Jahr erreichen“, so Dr. Kunde weiter.

In 2020 wird dafür der Service für den Gast noch weiter ausgebaut, so wird der Domshop attraktiver und mit neuen Produkten gestaltet, die Führungsangebote für Gruppen wurden überarbeitet und in der KinderDomBauhütte wird es neue Projekte für Kinder und Erwachsene geben. Für den Besucher ist auch der Westchor bald wieder vollständig ohne Einschränkungen sichtbar, denn die umfangreichen Restaurierungen der Glasfenster sind in dem Bereich fast abgeschlossen und die Fenster erstrahlen in neuem Glanz.

Die Vereinigten Domstifter werden aber auch weiterhin viele Baumaßnahmen rund um den Dom beschäftigen. So werden die Fenster des Ostchores bis zum Ende des Jahres restauriert. Außerdem erfolgt die Instandsetzung der Fassade in zwei Abschnitten bis 2021. Der Start ist stark witterungsabhängig, wird aber so schnell wie möglich erfolgen. Des Weiteren stehen die Sanierungen der Gebäude Neuer Steinweg 1 und 2, Domplatz 1 und 1a und Domplatz 5, 6 und 20 an. Hier laufen die Planungen und Ausschreibungen.

Besucherzahlen

2015: 125.987
2016: 123.771
2017: 124.045
2018: 137.693
2019: 147.938

Scroll-To-Top-Button
Skip to content